Learn more about Chakras

Chakras are energy centers in the body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. There are commonly 7 chakras throughout your body, that go from the base of your spine to the top of your head. Each chakra serves it’s own function in the body and are depicted with different colours and shapes.


7. The Crown Chakra

The “Sahasrara” chakra connects our bodies(being our energy and spirit) to our earthly existence. Being violet or white in colour, the crown chakra is located slightly above the top of the head, this chakra allows one to be open-minded to the world around them, connecting us to higher states of consciousness, which allows you to be present in the moment and experience moments of pure joy in your own reality.

Behavioral Characteristics


Yoga Poses

Supported Headstand (Salamba Sirsasana)
Supported Shoulderstand (Salamba Sarvangasana)
Lotus (Padmasana)
Seated Forward Bend (Paschimottanasana)
Reclining Bound Angle (Supta Baddha Konasana)


6. The Third Eye Chakra

The ability to have a clear perspective of your life and strong intuition stems from the “Ajna” chakra. Being Purple in colour , the Ajna chakra is located between the eyebrows, slightly above the nose,this chakra is deeply connected to the supreme element, which is a combination of all the elements.Allowing you to open your third eye to gain a deeper sense of inner perception, as well as seeing spiritual energy for what is giving yourself the freedom to clarify your own reality.

Behavioral Characteristics


Yoga Poses

Child’s Pose (Balasana)
Sun Salutations (Surya Namaskar)
Warrior III (Virabhadrasana)
Seated Meditation (Sukhasana)
Half standing forward bend (Ardha Uttanasana)


5. The Throat Chakra

Having the ability to voice withheld and strong emotions, communicate freely and express oneself is connected to the “ Vishuddha” chakra. When open, this chakra allows one to project and voice ideas into the world, flourishing in their identity as a being. The throat chakra allows you to feel confident when standing up for oneself, expressing emotions to further gain clarity in your life's purpose. Located in the center of the neck, just above the heart chakra, the Vishuddha chakra is blue/turquoise in colour.

Behavioral Characteristics

Personal Truth

Yoga Poses

Half shoulder stand (Ardha Sarvangasana)
Lion’s Face (Simhasana)
Rabbit (Sasakasana)
Plow (Halasana)
Warrior Seal (Virabhadra Mudra)


4. The Heart Chakra

The ability to cultivate meaningful relationships, to love yourself and others and have compassion in the world, stems from the “Anahata “  chakra. Connected to the element air, the heart chakra allows one to experience life in its most beautiful form, gaining a deep sense of appreciation and feeling connected, not only to earthly entities but to spiritual entities too.
Being green in colour and located within our heart, this chakra allows one to immerse themselves into deep and substantial relationships with others and to not only love and have compassion for others but to love and have compassion for the exquisiteness that is you as a being.

Behavioral Characteristics

Transcend Personal Identity
Meaningful Relationships

Yoga Poses

Cobra (Bhujangasana)
Cow Face (Gomukhasana)
Eagle (Garudasana)
Camel (Ustrasana)
Upward-facing Dog (Urdhva Mukha Svanasana)


3. The Solar Plexus Chakra

Our ability to feel confident within ourselves, having an identity as a being and feeling empowered to take control of your own life is stemmed from the “Manipura” chakra.
Being yellow in colour and located a few inches above the naval area, this chakra deeply connected to the element Fire, symbolises that each and every being has the willpower and glow within them to make clear decisions, form their own beliefs and opinions and know who they are firmly within themselves to create their own reality and experience life in its purest form.

Behavioral Characteristics

Expression of Will
Personal power
Establish Ideas

Yoga Poses

Boat Pose (Navasana)
Half Boat Pose (Ardha Navasana)
Leg Lifts (Urdhva Prasarita Padasana)
Sun Salutations (Surya Namaskar)
Bellows Breath (Bhastrika Pranayama)


2. The Sacral Chakra

The “Svadhisthana” chakra is commonly referred to as the “ seed of creation”.
the sacral chakra is connected with the element water, symbolising the abundance and intimacy we experience with our emotions. It is what allows us to express our sexuality as beings that are linked with our desires and pleasures. Being orange in colour and located between the base of the spine and naval, deeply connects us with our emotions and sensations that allows our creativity to grow when there are no blockages in our chakra.

Behavioral Characteristics


Yoga Poses

Cow Face (Gomukhasana)
Bound Angle (Baddha Konasana)
Revolved Triangle (Parivrtta Trikonasana)
Chair (Utkatasana)
Full Boat (Paripurna Navasana)


1. The Root Chakra

The root chakra or, “Muladhara”  connects us as beings with the feeling of security within ourselves. The sense of security stems from being secure with our basic needs for survival, being supported and realizing who we are as individuals to enhance our life. Being red in colour and located at the base of the spine, this chakra deeply connects us to the element of earth. Being connected to the element earth suggests that this chakra is what makes us feel grounded with ourselves.

Behavioral Characteristics


Yoga Poses

Garland (Malasana)
Warrior II (Virabhadrasana II)
Standing Forward Bend (Uttanasana)
Reclining Bound Angle (Supta Baddha Konasana)
Head-to-knee Forward Bend (Janu Sirsasana)